Research AppraisalRandomised Controlled Trial

Comparison between two different concentrations of ropivacaine in pericapsular nerve group block for patients undergoing total hip arthroplasty: A randomized clinical trial

PloS oneSun, Chenxu, Sun, Zhihua, Liu, Dawei et al.DOI

Clinical Snapshot

70CEBM
Evidence: ModerateRandomised Controlled Trial

PICO Framework

P — Population102 elderly patients undergoing total hip arthroplasty under spinal anesthesia
I — Intervention0.5% ropivacaine pericapsular nerve group block
C — Comparator0.375% ropivacaine pericapsular nerve group block and standard intravenous analgesic supplementation (control)
O — OutcomesPain scores during positioning, postoperative analgesia duration, opioid requirements, positioning quality, recovery outcomes, adverse events

Bottom Line

This randomized trial suggests that 0.5% ropivacaine pericapsular nerve group block provides superior perioperative analgesia compared to 0.375% concentration in elderly hip arthroplasty patients, with prolonged pain relief up to 48 hours and improved positioning for spinal anesthesia. The higher concentration showed no increase in adverse events while reducing opioid requirements and enhancing recovery. However, methodological limitations including unclear randomization details and missing statistical precision measures limit confidence in the findings. The technique appears clinically applicable in Australian practice for this challenging patient population, though clinicians should consider individual patient factors and institutional expertise. Further high-quality trials with detailed methodology reporting would strengthen the evidence base for optimal ropivacaine concentration selection in pericapsular nerve group blocks.

Evidence: Moderate

Key Findings

  • P Value: Not specified

  • Effect Size: Significantly lower pain scores with 0.5% vs 0.375% ropivacaine

  • Primary Outcome: Pain scores during positioning for spinal anesthesia

  • Nnt Or Sensitivity: Not calculable from available data

  • Confidence Interval: Not reported

Clinical Application

Requires ultrasound guidance and expertise in pericapsular nerve group block technique, equipment readily available in Australian hospitals Relevant to Australian orthopedic and anesthesia practice; ropivacaine is TGA-approved and PBS-listed; technique aligns with ANZCA guidelines for regional anesthesia Elderly patients undergoing total hip arthroplasty requiring spinal anesthesia, particularly those with positioning difficulties due to pain

Abstract

Effective pain control during spinal anesthesia positioning remains a clinical challenge in elderly patients undergoing total hip arthroplasty. The pericapsular nerve group block, a novel ultrasound-guided regional anesthesia technique, has shown promise for alleviating hip pain, yet the optimal concentration of local anesthetics for this approach remains unclear. In this randomized, observer-blinded clinical trial involving 102 patients, we compared the analgesic efficacy of two concentrations of ropivacaine (0.375% vs. 0.5%) administered via pericapsular nerve group block prior to spinal anesthesia. Patients receiving 0.5% ropivacaine reported significantly lower pain scores during positioning and demonstrated prolonged postoperative analgesia up to 48 hours, without a corresponding increase in adverse events. Both concentrations improved positioning quality, reduced opioid requirements, and enhanced recovery compared to controls who received standard intravenous analgesic supplementation (including preoperative midazolam and ketorolac, and postoperative sufentanil PCA), though the higher concentration yielded modest additional benefits. These findings suggest that a 0.5% ropivacaine pericapsular nerve group block may offer superior perioperative analgesia for hip arthroplasty without compromising safety, while highlighting the need to balance analgesic potency with potential motor effects. This study informs optimization of nerve block protocols to improve perioperative outcomes in a high-risk surgical population. This study informs optimization of nerve block protocols to improve perioperative outcomes in a high-risk surgical population. The trial was registered with the Chinese Clinical Trial Registry (registration number: ChiCTR2400089440).

References

  1. 1.Sun, C., Sun, Z., Liu, D., Chen, D., Dong, R., & Cai, Z. (2026). Comparison between two different concentrations of ropivacaine in pericapsular nerve group block for patients undergoing total hip arthroplasty: A randomized clinical trial. PloS one. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.bja.2023.02.017
Share:XLinkedIn

This content is for educational purposes for healthcare professionals only and does not constitute clinical advice. Clinical decisions should be based on individual patient assessment, current guidelines, and appropriate specialist consultation. Editorial Standards · Privacy Policy · Terms of Service